Thank you for visiting us.
Should you have any enquiries or suggestions about this project or website, please contact us by the following channels:

Art Promotion Office

Email : apo@lcsd.gov.hk

Telephone : (852) 2512 3000

Fax : (852) 2512 3022

Postal Address : Art promotion Office, 12 Oil Street, North Point, Hong Kong

Science Promotion Unit

Email : enquiries@hk.science.museum

Telephone : (852) 2732 3232

Fax : (852) 2311 2248

Postal Address : 2 Science Museum Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Preface

Art Promotion Office

Our understanding of nature—including its various intricate forces that keep the world running—remains vague like a cloud of mist. Through our co-existence and competition with the environment, we always feel things are driven both by chance and inevitability…

Humans have made scientific progress by leaps and bounds for close to four centuries, yet their theories are mostly expressed in mathematical formulas and geometric shapes. For the layman, science can still be mysterious, obscure, and inaccessible.

As we seek to deconstruct the universe, we never cease our pursuit of art to fill the void between survival and everyday life. Simply, scientists are driven by human curiosity to discover external phenomena; while artists express personal emotions by tapping into their romantic musings and imagination. Gustave Flaubert once wrote: “The farther, the art becomes more scientific, and science more artistic: having parted at the base, they will meet someday at the top.” If art is a vessel, it can become an expressive language for science; it's not about precision, but the shared emotions that connect us all as one. Science and art are like a pair of intimate dancers, each able to hold their own while shaping their partner’s moves. The result is a creative force greater than the sum of the two.

“The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series: Science in Art” exhibition is a programme of “Art@Harbour” to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. The Art Promotion Office and Science Promotion Unit would like to express their heartfelt gratitude to the Hong Kong Jockey Club for their enormous support for this exhibition. The Art Promotion Office would also like to thank all the guests who have participated in this exhibition, including guest curator Alan Cheung and the six groups of artists led by him—Chun-kit Cheuk, HIR Studio, Napp Studio & Architects, New Office Works, Studio RYTE and Whiteground. We are thankful to Sunny Wong for his stunning visual communication design, our art tech partner Juicyapp for creating a special online interactive platform, and a cohort of young, talented artists—Brenda Hui, KK Leung and Oldgrand.ma—for their remarkable floor graphics.

By combining art and science, let us transform Tamar Park and the Central and Western District Promenade into a laboratory for artists and a studio for scientists, where the two can meet and create endless room for imagination.

Continue reading

Foreword

Science Promotion Unit

Science Promotion Unit (SPU) was established in the LCSD in April 2020 with the objectives of popularising the knowledge of science and technology and raising the scientific literacy level of the general public, integrating the concept of science into everyday life, and providing the milieu for creativity and scientific innovation.

This time, SPU and the Art Promotion Office (APO) join hands to organise “The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series: Science in Art” exhibition which is exclusively sponsored by The Hong Kong Jockey Club with the theme of science and art. We have commissioned various local artists for the creation and installation of aesthetically appealing artworks that integrate science and technology at the Tamar Park and Central and Western District Promenade (Central Section). The exhibition aspires to reinvigorate our city with vitality and creativity with the backdrop of the glorious Victory Harbour.

SPU has engaged the local cross disciplinary artist Mr Wong Wang-tat, Victor to create a series of large-scale outdoor installations named Decoding Nature, featuring sea creatures and the mathematical structures in nature. Through the representation of the sea creatures’ morphology with the ingenious application of luminescent materials, various materials and colours, we wish to share with the public the messages of sustainable development, the beauty of our nature and science can be found and employed in art too.

SPU will also organise a series of engaging educational activities including online guided tours, scientist-sharing sessions, science demonstrations and creative art workshops for students. It is hoped that the “The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series: Science in Art” exhibition and the associated public programmes can inspire you and foster your appreciation of science in art.

Continue reading
Exclusively sponsored by

Message

Mr Leong Cheung
Executive Director, Charities and Community, The Hong Kong Jockey Club

Science and art are indispensable in our daily lives. Their integration is a driving force for the progress of human civilisation. Therefore, The Hong Kong Jockey Club is honoured to be the Exclusive Sponsor of “The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series: Science in Art” exhibition. By offering novel artistic experiences to our citizens through various creations incorporating elements of scientific theories and art, the showcase aims to sustainably promote community arts and culture to build a vibrant, vigorous and creative Hong Kong.

A myriad of distinctive works will be featured in Tamar Park as well as the Central and Western District Promenade (Central Section) to present the close relationship between science and art. They serve to increase public interest in and awareness of art and scientific knowledge. Virtual space, augmented reality (AR) and other technologies aim to enhance the interactivity of the exhibits, broaden horizons, and inspire viewers to explore the things around and natural phenomena. They seek not only to promote artistic appreciation, but also to nurture talent in the sector. This, in turn, will enable audiences and art practitioners to find insights and resonance from each other, as well as to advance local art tech alongside the cultural and creative industries.

Since its launch in 2012, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series has brought our citizens an array of world-class masterpieces from different places and times, showcasing Chinese and Western histories and cultures, as well as technological achievements. As this year marks the 25th anniversary of the establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Club supports a series of celebratory initiatives, including this exhibition, with approved donations of HK$630 million. These programmes are intended to instil more positive energy in our society.

Over the last 25 years, the Club has grown together with the community, creating one of Hong Kong’s most iconic and global brands. Being a world-leader in the sport of horse racing and also one of the ten largest charitable donors in the world, the Club is resolute in pursuing its purpose of acting continuously for the betterment of our society, all in support of creating stronger communities together.

The Club has spared no effort in promoting the development of art, culture and conservation in the city. We are dedicated to building a culturally vibrant Hong Kong, enriching lives and promoting social inclusion. One typical example is Tai Kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts, which has been conserved and revitalised by the Club in partnership with the Hong Kong SAR Government. It is encouraging to see that since opening in 2018, Tai Kwun has welcomed over nine million visitors. The Club’s support for all of its charity donations is made possible by its unique integrated business model, through which betting and lottery revenue are returned to the community in the form of tax payments and charitable donations.

I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to the Hong Kong SAR Government for its consistent support for The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series. My thanks also go to Art Promotion Office, Science Promotion Unit of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, and all participating partners for their efforts. I wish this exhibition resounding success, and all visitors many memorable moments as they experience the truth-and beauty-seeking spirit of science and art while “checking-in”.

Continue reading
Leong Cheung
Executive Director, Charities and Community
The Hong Kong Jockey Club
 

Curatorial Statement

Alan Cheung
(Guest Curator)

''lnnovation hinges on our ability to see things differently''. Two seemingly different disciplines, art and science, are the perfect duo to help us to see things from a new perspective. Organised by the Art Promotion Office and the Science Promotion Unit, the “The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series: Science in Art'' public art project aims to celebrate creativity through this unique combination.

Artists use technology as a medium of expression; scientists look for novel ideas through repetitive experiments. Da Vinci once said, “To develop a complete mind: study the science of art; study the art of science. Learn how to see. Realise that everything connects to everything else.” The interplay of art and science allows us to experience art in an unexpected manner, through this understanding, we can learn and innovate.
“The Hong Kong Jockey Club Series: Science in Art” exhibition invited a group of Hong Kong artists to create a series of artworks at Tamar Park and the Central and Western District Promenade to reinterpret the relationship between art, science, and technology. Under the umbrella of three physics concepts Colour in Light, Density in Optics, and Force in Motion the artists enriched and integrated their artworks with mathematical formulas to include educational content. Drawing on the picturesque view of Victoria Harbour, the exhibition showcases six innovative installations that harmonise art and science, which will change public perceptions and encourage interaction with art and the park, providing a brand new experience. Through collaboration with our art tech partner and visual communication artist, site-specific tech initiatives and events will be introduced during the exhibition to engage the public beyond physical space, and fuel their imagination. Inspired by physics concepts, visitors will have the opportunity to learn about, and embark on a new understanding of the connections between science and art, perhaps evoking childhood memories of physics lessons.

Alan Cheung is a Co-Founder and Managing Director of One Bite Design Studio. He was graduated from The Chinese University of Hong Kong for both his Bachelor and Master degrees in Architecture and is a registered architect in Hong Kong with 15 years of experience. Leading the first B Corp in Hong Kong from the architectural industry, he and his team at One Bite bridges commercial & public sector with the community through their creative ideas. Alan brings collaborative creations that are grounded in human-design thinking, to connect people to the space in their community and strengthen the social fabric. He focuses on public space, social design and cross-disciplinary creative strategy.

Continue reading
Alan Cheung
(Guest Curator)

谢谢您的到访。
如果您对本网站有任何疑问或建议,请通过以下方法与我们联系:

艺术推广办事处

电邮 : apo@lcsd.gov.hk

电话 : (852) 2512 3000

传真 : (852) 2512 3022

邮件地址 : 香港北角油街12号艺术推广办事处

科学推广组

电邮 : enquiries@hk.science.museum

电话 : (852) 2732 3232

传真 : (852) 2311 2248

邮件地址 : 香港九龙尖沙咀东部科学馆道二号

前言

人类对大自然的理解──包括种种支撑着世界运行的微妙关系,始终像迷雾一样朦胧。在我们与万物或共生、或共争之时,总会觉察许多的偶然和必然……

虽然我们近四百年在科学技术的道路上不断向前推进,对这隐秘的领域尝试理顺出一套分析脉络,个中的科学理论大多运用数学公式和几何图形来阐释,但表述用语对于一般人来说,时而晦涩,时而缥缈。
我们在解构宇宙规律的同时,却从未停止对艺术的追求,以填满生存和生活之间的那块空缺。简单而言,科学凭借执着的好奇心,在于探求外在事物;艺术依靠浪漫的想象力,在于表达自身情感。19世纪法国著名作家福楼拜曾经写道:「艺术愈来愈科学化,科学愈来愈艺术化,两者在山麓分手,有朝一日,将在山顶重逢。」 假若艺术是一个载体,它可以成为表达科学的一种语言,不求精准,只求共情,好让彼此走进人群之中。科学与艺术犹如一对亲密的舞伴,在乐声中,既能各自独领风骚,又能互相影响对方的步调,展现出「一加一大于二」的创意力量。

「香港赛马会呈献系列:艺术有理」展览是「艺术@维港」项目之一,以庆祝香港回归25周年。艺术推广办事处和科学推广组衷心感激香港赛马会的全力支持,艺术推广办事处同时感谢所有受邀参与今次展览的朋友,包括客席策展人张国麟以及其带领的六组艺术家及团队──卓震杰、HIR建筑设计室 、纳设计及建筑事务所、New Office Works、衡建设计和白本,亦感谢专责视觉传意设计的王文汇、打造在线互动平台的科艺合作伙伴果研以及创作地画的年轻画家许智贤、梁建强和oldgrand.ma。

透过艺术与科学的结合,就让我们将添马公园及邻近的中西区海滨长廊,化身成艺术家的实验室、科学家的工作室,作为两者再重逢的场域,创造出无限宽广的想象空间。

继续阅读

序言

科学推广组

康乐及文化事务署于2020年4月成立科学推广组,旨在向大众推广科学、科技知识以及科学文化,把科学概念融入日常生活中,营造富创意和科学创新的氛围。

这次科学推广组与艺术推广办事处特别以科学和艺术为主题联合筹划由香港赛马会独家赞助的「香港赛马会呈献系列:艺术有理」展览,委托多位本地艺术家在添马公园及中西区海滨长廊(中环段)创作及设置多组融合科技元素的大型艺术装置。展览以璀璨的维港风光为背景,为香港注入活力及创意。

科学推广组委约本地跨媒体艺术家黄宏达,创作一系列以海洋生物及自然界中的数学结构为特色的大型户外装置,名为「天机解密」,让公众以全新的角度欣赏科学。我们希望透过巧妙地运用荧光物料,不同素材和颜色展现海洋生物的形态,向公众传达可持续发展、欣赏自然之美和科学可以与艺术互融的讯息。

科学推广组将会举办一系列教育活动,包括网上导览、科学家分享会,以及科学示范,学生艺术创作工作坊等。我们希望「香港赛马会呈献系列:艺术有理」展览及相关教育活动,可以启发你从欣赏艺术作品中欣赏科学的原「理」。

继续阅读
独家贊助

献辞

张亮先生
香港赛马会慈善及社区事务执行总监

艺术与科学不仅是我们日常生活不可或缺的部分,两者相互融通,更是人类文明进步的重要动力。因此,香港赛马会很荣幸独家赞助「香港赛马会呈献系列:艺术有理」展览,透过科学理论与艺术元素兼备的创意作品,为市民带来崭新的艺术体验,从而促进社区艺术文化的可持续发展,缔造充满生机、活力和创造力的香港。

这次展览将在添马公园和中西区海滨长廊(中环段),展出各色各样的独特创作,诠释艺术与科学之间的密切关系,藉以提升公众对艺术和科学知识的兴趣及关注;同时配合如网上互动体验平台、扩增实境等科技,增加作品的互动性,扩阔观众视野,并从中启发他们探索周遭事物与各种自然现象的关系。这不但有助提高大众的艺术鉴赏能力,也培育更多具综合素质的业界人才,让观众与艺术工作者互相寻觅启迪和共鸣,推动本地艺术科技领域以至文化创意产业迈步向前。

「香港赛马会呈献系列」自2012年推出以来,不断为广大市民带来不同地区和时代的世界级珍品,展现中外历史文化的深层意义和科技成就。今年正值香港特别行政区成立25周年,马会拨款6.3亿港元,支持包括本展览在内的一系列庆祝活动,盼能为社会注入更多正能量。

过去 25 年,马会与香港一同成长,成为本港标志性的国际品牌之一,不但位居世界前列的赛马机构,也位列全球十大慈善捐助机构之一,一直贯彻致力建设更美好社会的宗旨,与香港并肩同行。

马会在推动艺术、文化及保育发展向来不遗余力,积极为香港注入艺术文化活力,丰富生活,推动创意共融。其中由马会与香港特区政府合作保育及活化而成的「大馆」──古迹及艺术馆,自2018年开幕至今已录得超过900万人次到访,实在令人鼓舞。马会得以支持各类型慈善项目,有赖其独特的综合营运模式,透过税款及慈善捐款,将博彩及奖券收入回馈香港。

我衷心感谢特区政府对「香港赛马会呈献系列」的持续支持,并为康乐及文化事务署艺术推广办事处、科学推广组,以及各合作团队所付出的努力表示谢意。祝愿这次展览圆满成功,让大家一边「打卡」,一边感受科学与艺术的纯真和大美。

继续阅读
香港赛马会慈善及
社区事务执行总监
张亮
 

策展概念

张国麟
(客席策展人)

「创新取决于我们以不同方式看待事物的能力」。艺术推广办事处与科学推广组联合筹划「香港赛马会呈献系列:艺术有理」展览,将艺术与科学这两个看似不同的学科结合,希望通过这种独特的组合激发创意思维,让大众以全新的眼光欣赏艺术。

艺术家以科技作为表现媒介;科学家透过反复考证科学理论启发创意思维。达文西曾经说过:「想培育完整的思想,应学习艺术中的科学;想学会欣赏事物,应研究科学中的艺术。这会令你意识到所有的一切都相连。」结合艺术和科学,让我们以意想不到的方式接触和体验艺术,从中学习并创新。
「香港赛马会呈献系列:艺术有理」邀请本地艺术家及团队在添马公园及中西区海滨长廊创作一系列艺术作品,重新诠释艺术、科学和科技之间的关系。艺术家们借用光色彩、光密度和动力学三个物理领域中的理论知识,加入公式定理作为教育元素,进一步丰富艺术作品。在维多利亚港景色的衬托下, 展出的六组作品旨在将艺术与科学结合并带出创新的理念,艺术家们将透过新颖的创作改变公众对艺术的认知及户外空间的使用,创造全新的体验。是次展览亦会联同科艺合作伙伴及视觉传意艺术家,在展览期间引入场域特定的科技装置和活动,带领观众超越物理空间,激发想象力。以物理学为题材,观赏者将重新发现及了解科学与艺术之间的密切关系,或能藉此唤起童年记忆中的物理课堂。

张国麟(Alan)为一口设计工作室的共同创办人及董事总经理。Alan毕业于香港中文大学建筑系,现为香港註册建筑师,拥有近十五年的工作经验。Alan善于採用设计思维的创作方式,将人与社区空间联结,从而加强社区之间的联繫。他专注于公共空间、社区设计和提供跨界别的创意策略,所领导的一口设计更是香港第一所建筑公司能获得 B Corp 的认证。

继续阅读
张国麟
(客席策展人)